Taking The Charge
Taking The Charge Long Read
Kyle Allman’s different path to NBA attention
2
0:00
-5:59

Kyle Allman’s different path to NBA attention

How a perceived step back just might help the dynamic Paris Basketball point guard get to the NBA
2

Kyle Allman’s long-term goal is to reach the NBA. No one preordained road to the League exists, but the 24-year old point guard might find his path easier thanks to a move that many in the European basketball world might consider a step back.

The Brooklyn native was the talk of the Basketball Champions League in 2020-21, starring for VEF Riga in his first season in a pan-European competition - which was his second year in Europe after graduating from Cal-State Fullerton in 2019.

Allman collected 13.8 points, 3.2 rebounds and 5.5 assists per game in the BCL for a Riga team that advanced somewhat surprisingly from the first group phase - finishing second in the four-team group ahead of Lithuania powerhouse Rytas Vilnius as well as Peristeri of Greece. Allman was named the BCL MVP for the month of December 2020 and ultimately helped equally thrilling teammate Michale Kyser earn a spot on the BCL Star Lineup Second Team.

After starting his professional career with Greek club Lavrio, where he averaged 11.2 points, 2.7 rebounds and 1.3 assists, Allman had definitely taken a step forward - also in terms of name recognition. He also helped Riga claim the Latvian league title and finish second in the Latvian-Estonian Basketball League, falling only to Kalev/Cramo in the final.

It seemed that Allman was set up for a jump up in league and team - with even an outside chance at a spot with a team in the Turkish Airlines EuroLeague. He told Taking The Charge that a lot of clubs showed interest in him but did not really make him an offer. The club that was working hardest to bring him in was Paris Basketball.

The team from the French metropolis definitely was intriguing as a club with an exciting plan for the future. The club president was David Kahn, who is the former president of basketball operations for the Minnesota Timberwolves. The team features former NBA player Kyle O’Quinn, and Allman’s future teammates would also be some of the best talents in France including Juhann Begarin, Ismael Kamagate and Milan Barbitch.

The one drawback was Paris not playing internationally this season.

“I wanted to play two times a week. It was big on that in the summer. I was telling my agent I don’t want to go anywhere less than two times a week. I was getting interest from places but they were offering other guys in front of me,” Allman said, referring to playing one game in the French ProA as well as one in a European competition such as the BCL, EuroLeague or 7DAYS EuroCup. “Paris really wanted me and that was the biggest thing: they were really excited and had a plan … I felt the love here, and they were coming hard at me for about three weeks, and I went to where felt I was really really really wanted instead of just a little bit wanted.”

Allman decided in the end to sign with Paris, on a one-year contract with an option for 2022-23. But first off, he had to get over not getting offers from other teams.

“It was humbling. It showed me I had work to do. Clearly if they're choosing other people over me that means I need to improve. I had a good summer and I feel like I have had a good preseason, but it was humbling,” he admitted.

Now, Allman’s focus is on making the best of the situation. And there is actually a lot working in his favor with Paris. If the club reaches the playoffs this season, it’s almost a certain the team would play internationally in 2022-23.

But the bigger point is that Allman will definitely have NBA scouts watching him on a regular basis at Paris. His 19-year-old teammate Juhann Begarin was selected 45th overall in the 2021 NBA Draft by Boston, meaning the Celtics and other teams will also be watching him. There is also the 20-year-old center talent Kamagate, who is starting to gain more and more NBA attention. There is also the 2001-born point guard Milan Barbitch.

“That is a part that a lot of people didn't understand. And that was bigger picture for me,” Allman said of knowing that Paris will be a revolving door of NBA scouts this season. “I did turn down playing two times a week, but in terms of getting the attention I want, I think I can get just as much or more attention from NBA teams here than certain two-times a week teams.”

Of course there is also club president Kahn and all his connections to the NBA.

“If I handle what I need to handle, then maybe I'll end up there (the NBA) sooner than I think with (Kahn’s) his contacts and people on my team and the eyes that will be watching us. Maybe I’ll end up on a roster quicker than I think if I handle what I gotta handle. That was definite big part coming here.”

Some may have been surprised in the off-season when Kyle Allman signed with Paris Basketball and not a team playing twice a week. But in the end, it might just work out even better.

2 Comments
Taking The Charge
Taking The Charge Long Read
Taking The Charge's long read articles read out loud for your convenience
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
David Hein